Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Provided Answers: 60

Unanswered: 1983 S (proof) MM issue

This proof got left out in the cold and somewhat abused. The extra curve on the MM is curious. Likely MD but what do you think?
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Thanks makecents, VAB2013 thanked for this post
    Likes makecents, VAB2013 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Provided Answers: 94
    I knew if you posted something it must be good! I'm a novice of course but that looks like no MD I've ever seen. The ridge to the west is raised and then the splits on the upper serif and the lower east part of the mm are very interesting. I say not MD.

Post Thanks / Like
    Provided Answers: 179
    No conclusion but my thoughts were:

It's in the plating or maybe it is an RPM. The primary looks thin in that area, that curve is separated from the primary. Maybe it was an RPM and in prepping the proof die it polished part of it away, making it separated and only leaving that thin curve and making the primary thin in that area??? You'd think others would be noticed if it is an RPM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Provided Answers: 104
    To me it looks like a RPM!!!
    Jim
    (A.K.A. Elmer Fudd) Be verwy verwy quiet... I'm hunting coins!!! Good Hunting!!!

Post Thanks / Like
    Provided Answers: 62
    There is definitely some clear separation.
    But there is also the slightest indent on the edge of the primary MM that appears to line up with both ends of the secondary one.
    I hope it is an RPM.

Post Thanks / Like