Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Coin Photography is not easy

I am new to this forum after reigniting my love of Lincoln cents from my youth in 1965. In the meantime I have enjoyed a career as a photojournalist (now retired but you can see some of my work at here ) Having so much experience as a photographer, I thought photographing my coins would be easy. But like any new endeavor I discovered the learning curve was steeper than I thought. I have found a wealth of information and inspiration here, so now – with tremendous humility – I am finally going to post a photo for your amusement, and I invite your criticism. Thanks to all of you for the education.

Attached Images Attached Images

2. Thanks makecents, WaterSport, Petespockets55 thanked for this post
    Likes makecents, WaterSport, Petespockets55 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    I like both - the coin, and your photo! As you discovered, its not easy but very rewarding when you capture the look of the cent as it looks in hand. For me, it's proof cents, man o man what a challenge.

Keep them coming.

Bob

4. Likes Petespockets55, Maineman750 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Looks pretty dang good to me for your first coin shot! I'm sure your career life will have you leaps and bounds ahead of most of us. You may want to hook up with a fellow photographer that is a member here, Ray Parkhurst. I have never seen better coin photography, than what he does. He has several he has posted here but here is a direct link to his site, where you can check out all of his work. LINK http://www.macrocoins.com/home.html
    Very nice work though, Randall.

Jon.

6. Likes WaterSport, Petespockets55 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like