PDA

View Full Version : whats your opinion on this one ?? not listed on coppercoins

shameless
06-05-2011, 11:47 PM
this one has a minor rpm and what looks like a whole other "d" that was lightly punched
its kinda hard to get a really good photo of it but i can see it clear in hand
this one is not listed on copper coins it has splits on both seriffs in photo 3
what do you think
thanks
co

shameless
06-05-2011, 11:49 PM
heres what im talking about

hasfam
06-06-2011, 01:30 AM
Colleen, the arrows are pointing to plating buildup.

jfines69
06-06-2011, 05:16 AM
I think I will disagree with Rock on this one... Don't hit me... LOL... I would think that plating build up would be in line with the MM that is there... This is rotated CW... I also see the minor split serifs... Very interesting coin and I hope one of the other pros chime in... My conclusion is a D/D with RPM... INP(I'm No Pro) though... Rock is though!!!

copperlover
06-06-2011, 06:49 AM
I am leaning towards Rock's call; this looks like build up of plating even though it shows slight rotation and the main D has both splits. I can not say that this without doubt an RPM. I have looked at several others and 1983 is noted for plating issues for the Denver coins. I may be wrong but that is what I am able to gather from all the facts that I have.

Lucien

dvn
06-06-2011, 06:53 AM
From the images I agree with Rock. Also what you point out within the loop of the primary "D" mintmark I believe is from a damaged punch. I have come across many of these, some in slightly different positions, within the loop.

I think I have one on my desk somewhere and if I can find it I'll shoot a quick photo on it and post.

edited to add: Found it, below is a pic of it.

Billy (dvn)

http://www.dvnmagazine.com/dmintmark.jpg

shameless
06-06-2011, 08:32 AM
thanks everybody
if it was not for that line in the center like that i would have thought plating and know that dvn has told me about the damaged punch it all makes since