PDA

View Full Version : Hello & Question About Creating Images

Socrates
01-18-2012, 06:40 AM
Hi All,

I've been collecting Lincoln cent for the last 6 months and am a newbie to coin collecting. I have a Canon digital camera and am considering buying a macro lens to create high resolution images of some of the varieties I think I've found to post on this forum. I've also found on Amazon.com a Celestron digital microscope for about $40.00:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001UQ6E4E/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=A13BNE3P7C8THK

Macro lenses are, of course, much more expensive than the digital microscopes I've seen so far. I'm interested in hearing what some of the more seasoned members of this forum think is the better choice for creating high resolution images of Lincoln cent varieties?

lara4228
01-18-2012, 06:44 AM
Hi,

I have one of these and I often heard from members on here that my pics possessed too much glare. It is great for zooming and viewing but it truly does not capture the true essence of you see.

I'd sink my money into a new lens if it were my decision.

Lara

thecentcollector
01-18-2012, 06:53 AM
Sink your money into a new lense, or buy a cheaper "startup" scope (I suggestAamscope for newcomers). This will help you achieve the maximum potential of coin photography. If money is not an issue, avoid the handheld microscopes. They do more harm than good, not only for yourself, but also when you post questions about coins as well. Those handhelds take terrible photos, and they are of little or no help to the community as a whole.

Sorry to be blunt, but that's my take. I'm sure if you bucked up to $100, you can find a nice, cheap Amscope on ebay or somewhere, and then use a normal camera through an eyepiece for a while until you can afford an adapter (or new setup).

Just my two cents.

RWBILLER
01-18-2012, 07:46 AM
Welcome to lcr!
Rog

jallengomez
01-18-2012, 08:27 AM