PDA

View Full Version : Is this real 1931-S RPM???

CrazyZap
09-11-2012, 10:27 PM
http://www.cointalk.com/t213204/

simonm
09-11-2012, 10:44 PM
Welcome to the LCR. As pointed out on the cointalk forum, there is a possibility of this being a counterfeit. Not sure if you didn't like the answers there but I would wait until you get a definitive result (by submitting it to a pro) before taking it to another forum. Also, an RPM is not an error, it is a variety. (which is why I moved the thread)

It also helps if you include pictures here for convenience, instead of just providing a link and having us switching between sites.

Antiquity
09-11-2012, 11:00 PM
Just doesn't look right to me, but I'm no expert. I wouldn't touch it with a 10 ft pole unless it was verified authentic.

simonm
09-11-2012, 11:01 PM
Just doesn't look right to me, but I'm no expert. I wouldn't touch it with a 10 ft pole unless it was verified authentic.

Agreed. If this was my coin, my number one priority would be getting it verified as authentic.

liveandievarieties
09-12-2012, 01:44 AM
That's hysterical- you've got a '69-72 style obverse hub style with a late 40s thru early 50s reverse and a 1931 date that looks like it was created through photoshop. Did you make that yourself? It's fun to look at.

AND NO- It's not real!

CrazyZap
09-12-2012, 01:49 AM