PDA

View Full Version : What Dates qualify for Premium on Errors

copperlover
08-04-2013, 03:41 PM
I just noticed that the 2013 Error Cents on Ebay closed out 0ver $2,400. Can someone tell me what errors would qualify for this type of pricing and from what dates does one start their searches. I am a rookie when it comes to Errors so I would like some opinions. Does it start from 1998-2013 for the modern errors since the single-squeeze era when it seems there are less chances of errors according to the experts? Thanks for any help and feel free to jump in.

Lucien

GrumpyEd
08-04-2013, 04:02 PM
There are several distinct timeframes.

1) The old days when they rolled everything it was unlikely that extreme off centers or die-caps or anything that was not round enough to get in a roll would get out.

2) The time of bags filled by weight and not rolled seemed to have a lot of extreme errors that got out.

3) The time of coins shipped by weight to coin rolling companies that shipped in bricks changed things so most extreme errors got found by the outfits doing the rolling/bricking.

4) Then more recently the mint must have better QA checks and also they might have cracked down on the companies they contract with to do the rolling/bricking to return defective coins and not let them get to the market. Maybe that is the modern period like the ones in the post, the nice errors are scarce and bring more premium.

-----------------

I think single squeeze in itself didn't change errors because it only changes the die making so it only changes the varieties that get created not the errors.

Another thing to consider is the waffling, by doing it that made it less likely that somehow those coins can get to the market and if they do they are waffled.

Maybe someone can add some dates to these basic periods or add some more time periods.

Scott99
08-04-2013, 04:06 PM