View Full Version : 1961D-1MM-081

VAB2013
01-01-2018, 07:36 PM
I'm a newbie at RPM's, well I have found a few but have not tried to attribute them yet. Did I get this one right?

I thought it looked like doubling inside. Lower split is deep, can't really see the top one if it's there. Checked CC 15, 72, 77 and wound up with 81 looking like a better match.

Thank you for looking and helping out!

makecents
01-01-2018, 07:50 PM
Everything looks pretty good to me Viv. The mm orientation and the die dot at the neck. Not sure about the markers at the "N" though. You are much braver than me jumping into the 60's mm's. I'll try again but the last time I didn't think I would make it out alive!:squigglemouth: Maybe Larry or Jim will chime it.

VAB2013
01-01-2018, 08:02 PM
Everything looks pretty good to me Viv. The mm orientation and the die dot at the neck. Not sure about the markers at the "N" though. You are much braver than me jumping into the 60's mm's. I'll try again but the last time I didn't think I would make it out alive!:squigglemouth: Maybe Larry or Jim will chime it.

Thank you Jon! Well, I'm just getting my feet wet. I may think differently after trying to figure out a couple more of them, but hey... it's a New Year, let's jump in and go for it!

VAB2013
01-02-2018, 04:27 AM
Bob's attribution notes refer to Master Die Doubling on the O of God and light doubling on the neck, confuses me a little. I labeled the pic master die doubling, but it should be machine doubling I think, considering what it looks like. Is that right?

TPring
01-02-2018, 06:54 AM
Nice find.

As has been noted previously, the RPMs can be vicious but, fun. I have a few similar to yours [split and double-split serifs] that I have just put on the back-burner because of available time and info].

The pics are looking good -- Nice coloring. Are you using a natural light or LEDs?
Some of my close-ups are looking like charcoal drawings.:LOL_Hair: