PDA

View Full Version : AmScope is having a sale - what do you guys think about this one?

VAB2013
05-01-2019, 08:43 AM
Well, I have been on the phone with AmScope trying to put together a good deal and this is what we came up with. I'm trying to stay around $300 and I got an email from AmScope with a 15% off code, with free shipping, this would be $285.00.

Sharp Stereo Microscope 5X-10X-15X-30X (https://www.amscope.com/sharp-stereo-microscope-5x-10x-15x-30x.html)

5MP USB Microscope Digital Camera (with stitching software) (https://www.amscope.com/5mp-usb-microscope-camera-measurement-software.html)

The AmScope representative said I should be able to get a full coin shot at 5X with this one. The other alternative would be to spend a lot more money on a different scope starting at 3.5X, add a Barlow lens, etc.

Added: it has a 12V/10W Tungsten Bulb. I had to look that up - I think it just means it's incandescent with a filament of tungsten wire inside the bulb. When I was talking with the AmSouth Rep he said "sounds like you have been traumatized by LED lights"! He nailed that one!

Added: after reading a review, it looks like this one will not shoot a full cent. The one below will with the 0.5X Barlow, but it is designed for ambient light and the only light attachment for it is a dang LED ring light!

https://www.amscope.com/stereo-microscopes/zoom-power/3-5x-90x-zoom-trinocular-stereo-microscope-with-table-pillar-stand.html

willbrooks
05-01-2019, 12:57 PM
If you are ready to drop that kind of money, you will be much better served taking to Ray first.

makecents
05-01-2019, 06:36 PM