PDA

View Full Version : Unbelievable 90 NMM

PennyLoafer63
11-07-2009, 12:09 PM
Hi all,
Yesterday my ex-fiance.LoL brought me a box of pennie's from his bank and the first 1990 I pulled out is absolutely unbelieveable,not just that it was in circulation but it is so frosty looking and flawless that it's indescribable!:squigglemouth:
I am blind as a bat but I can hold it away from me and see the doubling if if it's not 3x? It is so obvious on the entire Rev. and Obv.and E.pluribus.unum is stacked like 3 times....seriously..I have a weird way with descriptions but I am a newbie too so bare with me...LoL
The detailing is so sharp and razorlike even...I've never seen one that look's like it..I tried scanning it with my flatbed scanner but it shows up as dark brown but believe me it doesn't have 1 bit of brown on it anywhere! and it doesn't show the details as well?? Can someone steer me in the right direction please also as to how I can scan it better for you guy's?
I've seen alot of nice 90's but this one doesn't even compare to them! Could it be a proof??
Thanks In Advance!!!

Brad
11-07-2009, 12:14 PM
Do you have a digital camera? Try holding a magnifier up to the lens and taking a pic.

jcuve
11-07-2009, 12:19 PM
Proofs sometimes enter circulation, so it is possible. The doubling, if on both sides, is likely machine doubling, die deterioration doubling or (just maybe) a multi-strike – we need images to try and figure it out though.

Scanners usually have settings in a menu somewhere, set it at a high DPI scan rate and output rate (which is normal in percentages); the larger the image the better. Other than that there isn't much that can be done with a scanner.

POSTSCRIPT:
Here is the LCR Camera Thread, maybe that will help...
http://www.lincolncentresource.net/forums/showthread.php?t=4037

PennyLoafer63
11-07-2009, 12:55 PM
ok,Thanks!
BRB with pix,I don't have a digicam,Lost it in the ocean!.LoL

PennyLoafer63
11-07-2009, 05:20 PM