PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Gipper1985
01-06-2010, 08:03 AM
Hi, I am new to coin collecting. I have a few thousand wheats to go through from both my grandfather's and uncle's collection as well and 15 thousands or so memorial cents I have started sorting that I have rolled over the last 15 years or so. I have enjoyed the sorting so far but have not decided what to do with them. I have done some research but if anyone has thoughts on coin folders I would appreciate it. I don't anticapate having any high grade coins or buying proof coins so I was thinking of just getting the whitman folders but part of me wants to be able to see both sides. Since the Dansco folders are so much more expensive I wanted to get opinions from experienced collectors.

jcuve
01-06-2010, 08:22 AM
Welcome to the forum!

The Whitman folders often damage the coins over time with acidic vapors from the paper and inks used - plus you have to really press them to get 'em into the slots and you will likely damage the surface of the coins if you are not careful. The Dansco albums are better but I wouldn't put nice BUs or Proof in there as you have to make contact with the surface (albeit less than a Whitman folder) and even those albums can mess with the surface over time from vapors (I had this happen with a new folder once - it hazed my proofs in about 4 weeks time).

I personally buy non-plasticized 2"x2" flips and place them in non-vinyl album pages that hold 20 flips - they then can go into any three ring binder. With the flips I can write whatever I want on the insert, have any number, rearrange them anyway I see fit - basically have ultimate flexibility and control. If you don't use an insert, or use a smaller one, you can see the back of the coin. They are also much easier to take out and put back in.

JeanK
01-06-2010, 09:29 AM