PDA

View Full Version : This looks like the place!

TheGman
03-11-2010, 07:13 PM
Hello everyone. I have been collecting coins for 20+ years off and on. Really got back into it when the statehood quarter series started. My main focus on collecting is U.S. dollar coins and sea life coins from any country. (mainly foreign sea life coins cause our gov't loves dead presidents and has no imagination when it comes to designing new coinage). I have been going through a coin lot I purchased a while ago consisting mainly of circulated pre 1959 Lincoln cents and have had some luck finding some RPM's and OMM's. I hope to post some of my discoveries and get some info or remarks from good people here at the Lincoln Cent Resource. In particular I have a 1951 D that looks like a 5/3 overdate to me. I checked the Cherrypickers guide (Volume 1 - 5th edition) and thought It might be the variety on page 120 (FS-01-1951D-521) however, it's nothing like that. I'm going to post a pic (when I find out how and where) and hope you guys might recognize this variety/error. Thank you and hope to hear from yall soon.

jpl6332
03-11-2010, 09:17 PM
Welcome to the forum Gman and have fun looking around, the Resource is always available, and folks are usually around to help out. This is a real fun hobby and all of us here love the Lincoln Cent as you can tell. Post pictures an ask questions...it does look like you have something in the backround with the 5 on that 51 D but my eyes are old so I wll let one of the experts chime in. Welcome and happy Cherry Picking

trails
03-12-2010, 05:44 AM